You must get an Utah commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Utah. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Utah adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Utah CDL Required
- Utah CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Utah CDL
- How much does the Utah CDL cost?
- Utah Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Utah CDL Required
You need an Utah CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Utah Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Utah CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an Utah CDL
To qualify/apply to obtain a Commercial Instruction Permit:
Applicant must have DOT medical card and pass a general knowledge and combination written test, (air brakes if applicable.) Applicant must also take a skills test in a vehicle over 26,001 lbs and trailer over 10,001 lbs.
Applicant must have DOT medical card and pass a general knowledge written test and air brakes if the vehicle is equipped. Applicant must also take a skills test in a single vehicle over 26,001 lbs.
Applicant must have DOT medical card and pass a general knowledge written test and air brakes if the vehicle is equipped and either hazmat or passenger written test. Applicant must also take a skills test in a vehicle less than 26,001 lbs that is designed to carry 16 or more passengers for passenger endorsement, or vehicle less than 26,001 lbs for hazmat endorsement.
You will need to provide proper identification when you apply for your CDL. Some acceptable forms are:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card (or proof of the number)
- U.S. Passport
- Birth Certificate
- A Utah driver license
- Other state’s driver license (if transferring from another state)
- Military ID card
More information on documentation required here. http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/documents/DLD335BrochureREV12-14.pdf
How much does the Utah CDL cost?
Commercial Driver’s License Fees
- Original or renewal for a commercial Class A, B, or C license or an original renewal of a provisional commercial Class A or B license. Written Test – $40.00 Skills Test – $60.00
- $7.00 – Each original Commercial driver license endorsement for passengers, hazardous material, double or triple trailer, tanker, or school bus.
- $7.00 – Renewal of a Commercial driver license endorsement
- $20.00 – Retake of a Commercial driver license written test
- $40.00 – Retake of a Commercial driver license skills test
- $7.00 – Retake of a Commercial driver license endorsement test
- $18.00 – Duplicate Class A, B, or C license
- $25.00 – Rescheduling Fee
- $25.00 – Intrastate medical fee
More information about fees from UT CDL Manual.
Official Utah CDL Manual