Nebraska CDL Requirements

You must get an Nebraska commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Nebraska. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.


Nebraska adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.


When is an Nebraska CDL Required

You need an Nebraska CDL when you operate the following vehicles:

CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)

CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Nebraska Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.

CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).

CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.

Nebraska CDL Age Requirements

You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).

You must be at least 21 years old to:

  • drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
  • haul hazardous materials

How to Apply for an Nebraska CDL

Documentation Requirements

See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements (and other key forms) for Nebraska here.

Identification, Address and Social Security Number Verification Requirements:

Nebraska statute requires ONE form of identification which includes name and date of birth for driver’s licenses, permits and Nebraska ID cards. Also required, will be TWO forms of address verification.

How much does the Nebraska CDL cost?

Licenses, permits and state identification cards must be issued for a full 5 year period unless:

  • license, permit or ID card was issued to an individual who is not yet 21 years of age, but will be 21 years of age less than 5 years from the date of issuance resulting in the license, permit or ID card being valid for less than the full 5 year period;
  • license or permit has a bioptic or telescoptic restriction (renewal is required yearly);
  • CDL holder with Hazardous Material endorsement (expiration date is based on date of Security Threat Assessment);
  • the applicant is presenting a USCIS document (the expiration of the Nebraska document will be tied to the expiration date of the USCIS document);

The fees are as follows:

Commercial and Restricted Commercial License:

  • Valid for 1 year or less $13.50
  • Valid for more than 1 year but not more than 2 years $24.50
  • Valid for more than 2 years but not more than 3 years $35.50
  • Valid for more than 3 years but not more than 4 years $46.50
  • Valid for 5 years $57.50

Bioptic or telescopic lens restriction:

  • Valid for 1 year or less $11.00 $2.50 $13.50
  • Valid for more than 1 year but not more than 2 years $24.50
  • Replacement $13.50
  • Change of class, endorsement or restriction $12.50

Learner’s Permit (LPC) – (Commercial Learner’s Permit)

  • Original $12.50
  • Replacement $12.50
  • Change of class, endorsement or restriction $12.50

Sources:
Official Nebraska CDL Manual
Nebraska DMV
FMSCA Guidelines