Montana CDL Requirements

You must get an Montana commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Montana. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.


Montana adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.

When is an Montana CDL Required

You need an Montana CDL when you operate the following vehicles:

CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)

CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Montana Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.

CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).

CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.

Montana CDL Age Requirements

You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).

You must be at least 21 years old to:

  • drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
  • haul hazardous materials

How to Apply for an Montana CDL

Documentation Requirements

See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements (and other key forms) for Montana here.

Commercial driver license (CDL) applicants who do not have a regular, class D Montana driver license or who are transferring an out-of-state license must provide:

The required documents

  • proof of identity
  • proof of Montana residency
  • proof of authorized presence
  • proof of Social Security number
  • valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MEC)

Commercial driver license (CDL) applicants who do have a regular, class D Montana driver license must provide:

  • proof of Social Security number
  • valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MEC)

How much does the Montana CDL cost?

The fees are as follows:


Fees for Intrastate Commercial Driver Licenses

Customer Age (years) Driver Licensing Fee Total Fee with a Motorcycle Endorsement Length of CDL (years)
18 $26.00 $27.50 3
19 $17.50 $18.50 2
20 $9.00 $9.50 1
21-70 $43.00 $45.50 5
71 $34.50 $38.50 4
72 $26.00 $27.50 3
73 $17.50 $18.50 2
74 $9.00 $9.50 1
75 & older $34.50 $38.50 4

Fees for Interstate Commercial Driver Licenses

Customer Age (years) Driver Licensing Fee Total Fee with a Motorcycle Endorsement Length of CDL (years)
21-70 $50.50 $53.00 5
71 $40.50 $42.50 4
72 $30.50 $32.00 3
73 $20.50 $21.50 2
74 $10.50 $11.00 1
75 & older $40.50 $42.50 4

If you currently have a valid MT Class D license and it does not expire within six months, deduct a total of $0.50 from your total license fee.

Sources:
Official Montana CDL Manual
Montana MVD
FMSCA Guidelines