You must get an Missouri commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Missouri. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Missouri adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Missouri CDL Required
- Missouri CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Missouri CDL
- How much does the Missouri CDL cost?
- Missouri Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Missouri CDL Required
You need an Missouri CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Missouri Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Missouri CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an Missouri CDL
Applicants must present one or more documents in each of the following categories. Additional documents may be required.
Name, Date of Birth, Place of Birth (U.S. Citizen)
- U.S. Birth Certificate – certified with an embossed, stamped or raised seal issued by a vital records agency (hospital-issued birth certificates and birth registration cards are not accepted);
- U.S. Passport (valid or expired);
- U.S. Certificate of Citizenship, Naturalization, or Birth Abroad; or
- A photocopy of a certified U.S birth certificate (issued by a vital records agency) accompanied by a U.S. Military Identification Card or U.S. Military Discharge Papers.
- If you were born in Missouri and need to obtain a certified copy of your birth certificate, you may contact the Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services for assistance.
Name, Date of Birth, Place of Birth (Non-U.S. Citizen)
- Non-U.S. citizens must present appropriate immigration documents indicating current status and should examine the complete listing of acceptable documents for proof of name, date of birth, and place of birth.
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (ALL Applicants)
- Provide your Social Security Number (verbally, or by presenting your Social Security card); or
- If a Social Security Number has not been assigned, the applicant must present a letter from the Social Security Administration (SSA) regarding the status of the applicant’s Social Security Number.
How much does the Missouri CDL cost?
The fees are as follows:
CDL Learner’s Permit (Class A, B, or C)
- valid 6 months $7.50
CDL (18 years and up)
- $22.50 (valid up to 3 years)
- $45.00 (valid up to 6 years)