You must get an Mississippi commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Mississippi. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Mississippi adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Mississippi CDL Required
- Mississippi CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Mississippi CDL
- How much does the Mississippi CDL cost?
- Mississippi Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Mississippi CDL Required
You need an Mississippi CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Mississippi Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Mississippi CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 17 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an Mississippi CDL
See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements (and other key forms) for Mississippi here.
- A completed, signed Application form.
- A social security card. Effective August 01, 2014 the Social Security will no longer offer Social Security printouts. (Note: metal social security cards are not acceptable.)
- A state issued certified Birth Certificate. Must be original long form or a certified copy, have a raised seal and be issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics or State Board of Health.
- If at least 17 years of age, you must pass the written and driving skills test. This may be waived if you are over 17 and have held an out of state license for at least six (6) months.
- Applicants less than 18 years of age must present an education attendance form obtained from their school or County Superintendent of Education’s Office verifying that the applicant is enrolled in school or has an acceptable alternative. (GED)
How much does the Mississippi CDL cost?
The fees are as follows:
- Commercial (CDL) Original/Renewal Class D $29.00
- CDL Application Fee $25.00
- CDL Learner’s Permit – valid 6 months $16.00
- CDL – 17 Years Old $44.00
- CDL Restriction “U” – Farm Waiver $9.00
- CDL S – School Bus $26.00
- CDL Drivers License $44.00
- CDL Endorsement $5.00
- Haz Mat Endorsement $5.00
- Tanker Endorsement $5.00
- Doubles/Triples Endorsement $5.00
- Passenger Endorsement $5.00
- School Bus Endorsement (S) $5.00