You must get an Maryland commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Maryland. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Maryland adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Maryland CDL Required
- Maryland CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Maryland CDL
- How much does the Maryland CDL cost?
- Maryland Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Maryland CDL Required
You need an Maryland CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Maryland Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Maryland CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an Maryland CDL
See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements (and other key forms) for Maryland here.
• Lawful admission into the United States (for Hazardous Materials only)
• Proof of Maryland residence
• Valid full Maryland Non-Commercial Driver’s License (must be off provisional license).
• Valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT Card), or Intrastate/Interstate Waiver.
• You must provide Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT Card); Intrastate/Interstate Waiver prior to taking required tests which includes passing the vision screening and any required CDL knowledge tests before a learners instructional permit will be issued. You will be required to provide the Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT Card) during any transactions at the MVA.
How much does the Maryland CDL cost?
The fees are as follows:
- CDL Renewal/Conversion (Includes CDLIS fee) $50.00
- CDL Conversion (Out of State to MD CDL same class. Includes CDLIS fee 5-year license) $65.00
- *Add Motorcycle Class $45.00
- CDL Duplicate $20.00
- CDL Correction (w/o renewal) $20.00
- CDL Skills Retest $20.00
- CDL Learner’s Permit (Includes CDLIS & Skills Test fees) $90.00
- CDL HAZMAT Background Check (BRC) $88.75
Note: Commercial driver’s licenses will continue to be valid for a maximum of 5 years.