You must get an Louisiana commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Louisiana. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Louisiana adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Louisiana CDL Required
- Louisiana CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Louisiana CDL
- How much does the Louisiana CDL cost?
- Louisiana Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Louisiana CDL Required
You need an Louisiana CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Louisiana Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Louisiana CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an Louisiana CDL
- Valid picture driver’s license
- Supplemental Application Form (DPSMV 2211) – Enclosure A
- Current, complete Physical Examination (DPSMV 2219) or it’s equivalent
- Proof of liability insurance on personally owned vehicle/s
- Proof of Social Security number
- Application fee is $15 (cash only) due at the time of application
- Upon passing required test/s, applicant will be issued a 60 day learner’s permit.
- Applicant is required to make an appointment with a CDL Third Party Examiner for administration of the skills test (pre-trip inspection, basic controls and road driving). A list of CDL Third Party Examiner’s is available at any Office of Motor Vehicles location.
- Upon successful completion of the skills test, the Examiner will issue a Certificate of Successful Completion and place it in a sealed envelope to be presented to the CDL office for issuance. Tampering with this envelope may result in invalidation of your test.
How much does the Louisiana CDL cost?
The fees are as follows:
- CDL application – $24 (except Class B/C with P & S endorsements only – $9)
- CDL instruction permit – $11
- Original CDL – up to $40 (prorated fees according to current operator’s expiration)
- Renewal CDL – $47/Class B or C with P & S endorsements only – $32.00
- Transfer CDL – $60; with motorcycle – $70.
Upgrades in Class
- Application fee (initial and renewal) $15.00
- CDL driver’s license fee – $41.00 ($51.00 for Orleans parish)
- Endorsements – $ 5.00 each
- Parish fee (if applicable) – up to $3.00
Official Louisiana CDL Manual