You must get an Idaho commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Idaho. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Idaho adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Idaho CDL Required
- Idaho CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Idaho CDL
- How much does the Idaho CDL cost?
- Idaho Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Idaho CDL Required
You need an Idaho CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Idaho Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Idaho CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an Idaho CDL
See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements for Idaho here.
To apply for your CDL, go to your county driver’s license office. Take your current driver’s license, Social Security card, proof of Idaho residence and money to pay your fees. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or U.S. nationals will be required to provide proof of lawful presence in the United States. You will be asked if you are subject to and in compliance with the requirements of Part 391 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (Qualifications of Drivers). You will be asked to declare (self-certify) what type of driving you intend to do: Interstate or Intrastate (within Idaho only) and whether the type of driving you plan to do will require a DOT Medical card or not. When applying for your CDL, your driving record will be checked, fees will be collected, and you are required to pass the vision and knowledge tests.
After passing the written tests, you must make an appointment with a CDL Skills Tester to take the skills test. A list of Examiners is available at the County DMV and online at www.itd.idaho.gov Some testers have vehicles that you can rent. When you go to the skills tester, you will need to take proof of identification, proof of insurance, and your receipt showing you have passed the written tests and paid the skills test receipt fee.
The skills test has three parts: the vehicle inspection, the basic control skills test, and the road test. The skills test will take two to three hours to complete and must be taken in a vehicle that is representative of the license class you wish to obtain. If the vehicle used for the test is not equipped with air brakes, your CDL will show a restriction stating that you are not licensed to operate vehicles equipped with air brakes.
After you have passed all required written and skills tests, you do not have the authority to operate a commercial vehicle until you obtain your CDL from the County DMV. You will be issued a temporary license from your county driver’s license office and your permanent license will be sent to you by US Mail. It is very important your mailing address is current and accurate. If you move after your CDL is issued, you must notify Idaho Transportation Department of your new address.
All test results remain valid for one year. If the appropriate license is not issued within the one-year period, the tests must be re-taken. If you do not pass a test, you must wait three (3) days before retaking the test. Test fees must be paid again.
CDL tests are not required at renewal time, with the exception of the Hazardous Materials test which must be passed prior to each renewal.
How much does the Idaho CDL cost?
The fees are as follows:
- CDL license (4-year) $40.00
- CDL instruction permit $29.00
- Duplicate CDL or permit $15.00
- License upgrade $25.00
- Endorsement addition (after issuance of a CDL) $15.00
- Written tests (each) $ 3.00
- Skills test ($10 to Driver’s License Office, $60 to Skills Tester)$70.00
Official Idaho CDL Manual