You must get an Colorado commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Colorado. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Colorado adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Colorado CDL Required
- Colorado CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Colorado CDL
- How Much Does the Colorado CDL Cost?
- Colorado Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Colorado CDL Required
You need an Colorado CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Colorado Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Colorado CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) within state lines (intrastate) only.
Drivers must be at leat 21 years old to:
- commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials which require placarding or
- operate vehicle with doubles or triples trailers
How to Apply for an Colorado CDL
See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements for Colorado here.
- Valid driver’s license from Colorado or another state or a commerical permit
- Current DOT medical card – find a FMCSA Certified Medical Examiner in your area
- Your Social Security number
- Commercial drive skills test completion form dated within 60 days (if turning your commercial instruction permit into a CDL)
- If you want to add a HAZMAT endorsement on your CDL, you will need to successfully pass the HAZMAT written exam and provide a current TSA background check every time you purchase a CDL
How Much Does the Colorado CDL Cost?
Note: You must pay the fees for your commercial drivers license BEFORE you take your knowledge tests. After paying the fees for the general knowledge, air brakes, and endorsements you wish to acquire you will then have three attempts to pass each portion of the exam. You must also have your medical examiners card or DOT medical card before applying.
The fees are as follows:
Commercial drivers license Fee is $35.00 ($37.00 if you have a motorcycle endorsement)