You must get an Oregon commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Oregon. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Oregon adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Oregon CDL Required
- Oregon CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Oregon CDL
- How much does the Oregon CDL cost?
- Oregon Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Oregon CDL Required
You need an Oregon CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Oregon Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Oregon CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an Oregon CDL
Note: The qualifications needed to obtain and hold a CDL are dependent on the type of driving you do or intend to do and the type of driving you certify.
If you certify a driving type of intrastate or excepted interstate, you must:
- Meet the qualifications for or have a Regular Driver License (non-commercial Class C). This means you must pass the non-commercial Class C knowledge and drive tests before applying for a CDL;
- Be at least 18 years of age;
- Present proof of your full legal name;
- Present proof of your legal presence in the U.S., identity and date of birth;
- Provide your Social Security Number on the application;
- Present proof of your residence address;
- Pass the CDL General Knowledge Test (offered in English only);
- Determine the appropriate CDL Class (Class A, B or C), and pass any additional CDL Knowledge Tests and/or meet any additional requirements for that specific class;
- Complete the Commercial Driver License Application (Form 735-175), and indicate that you have at least one year driving experience in at least a non-commercial Class C vehicle;
- Complete requirements for any CDL endorsements you may need;
- Pass a vision screening as defined in OAR 735-062-0050;
- Submit a copy of a valid medical examiner’s certificate and, when required, a medical waiver or exemption that proves you meet minimum Oregon medical standards for holding a CDL;
- Pass CDL Skills Tests (conducted in English only);
- Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on payment of test fees);
- Not be suspended or otherwise disqualified from holding a CDL in Oregon or any other state;
- Certify your intent to operate a vehicle in intrastate commerce or excepted interstate commerce; and
- Have your photograph taken.
More information from Oregon DOT about Getting a CDL or CLP.
You will need to provide proper identification when you apply for your CDL. Some acceptable forms are:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card (or proof of the number)
- U.S. Passport
- Birth Certificate
- An Oregon driver license
- Other state’s driver license (if transferring from another state)
- Military ID card
More information here.
How much does the Oregon CDL cost?
Commercial Driver License Fees
You must pay test fees prior to taking any test, while licensing fees are collected after all requirements are met. Please be prepared to make separate payments for testing and licensing fees. You also must have at least one year of driving experience before you can apply.
Type/Description – Fee
- Certificate of Test Completion – Commercial Driver License (CDL) $40
- Certificate of Test Completion – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Passenger and/or School Bus Endorsement $40
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) $10
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Air Brakes $10
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Combination Vehicles No Fee
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Doubles/Triples $10
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Hazardous Materials $10
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Passenger $10
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – School Bus $10
- Knowledge Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Tank Vehicles $10
- Knowledge Test – Motorcycle No Fee
- Knowledge Test – Safe Driving Practices Test (under 18 years of age) No Fee
- Skills Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) $70
- Skills Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Passenger Endorsement Upgrade (for applicants who have already taken a CDL drive test and are only adding a passenger endorsement) No Fee
- Skills Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – Remove Air Brake Restriction $56
- Skills Test – Commercial Driver License (CDL) – School Bus Endorsement Upgrade (for applicants who have already taken a CDL drive test and are only adding a school bus endorsement) No Fee
- Driver License – Commercial (CDL) – Customer Has No Oregon Driver License $135.50
- Driver License – Commercial (CDL) – Upgrade of Existing Oregon Driver License $75.50
- Instruction Permit – Commercial Driver License (CDL) (valid for 1 year) $23.50
Official Oregon CDL Manual