You must get an New Mexico commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in New Mexico. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
New Mexico adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an New Mexico CDL Required
- New Mexico CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an New Mexico CDL
- How much does the New Mexico CDL cost?
- New Mexico Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an New Mexico CDL Required
You need an New Mexico CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an New Mexico Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
New Mexico CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
How to Apply for an New Mexico CDL
See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements (and other key forms) for New Mexico here.
A driver applicant for a CDL Permit, a first-time Commercial License or a Commercial License renewal must have the
1) State birth certificate or US passport or other proof of lawful presence in the US.
2) Social Security Card.
3) DOT Medical Certification – stored electronically by MVD or hard-copy.
4) Two verifiable proofs of physical residency in New Mexico.
5) A valid New Mexico driver’s/CDL license.
How much does the New Mexico CDL cost?
What is the fee for a commercial driver’s license?
Note: This was last updated by the New Mexico MVD on 08/06/2013. Fees may have increased since then.
- The fee is $18.00 for a four-year license or $34.00 for an eight-year license. Drivers who are 75 years old or older must renew their licenses yearly, but they are not charged renewal fees.
- State law now requires a DWI records check on all drivers moving to New Mexico from out-of-state. To pay for the records check, those drivers are charged an additional one-time $15.00 fee, increasing their total to $33.00 for a four-year license or $49.00 for an eight-year license.
- Driver’s with the hazardous materials (Hazmat) endorsement cannot get an eight-year license.
- The additional cost for the background check and fingerprinting required to obtain a Hazmat endorsement is $127.00.