You must get an Nevada commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Nevada. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Nevada adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Nevada CDL Required
- Nevada CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Nevada CDL
- How Much Does the Nevada CDL Cost?
- Nevada Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Nevada CDL Required
You need an Nevada CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Nevada Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Nevada CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- drive commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
- transport passengers
CDLs issued to applicants age 18 to 20 will contain Restriction R (no passengers or hazmat) and Restriction 2 (intrastate commerce only).
How to Apply for an Nevada CDL
See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements (and other key forms) for Nevada here.
First-time applicants are required to provide proof of identity (full legal name and date of birth), separate proof of Social Security number if one has been issued for you and two documents to prove your Nevada residential address.
How Much Does the Nevada CDL Cost?
Commercial License Transaction Fees
Note: Drivers 65 and older receive 4-year licenses only.
- Original or transfer that requires knowledge and skills tests $141.25
- Original or transfer that requires knowledge tests only $111.25
- Instruction Permit $57.25
- Completion of Instruction Permit $57.25
- Added Endorsement $17.25
- Driving skills test to add or remove a restriction or endorsement $30
- Renewal that requires knowledge tests only or no tests (8 year) $111.25
- Renewal that requires knowledge tests only or no tests (4 year) $57.25
- Renewal that requires knowledge and skills tests (8 year) $141.25
- Renewal that requires knowledge and skills tests (4 year) $87.25
- CDL Duplicate $22.25
- Add CDL Endorsement $14 per endorsement plus $3.25 photo fee
- Driving Skills Test for full license or restrictions/endorsements $30 plus $3.25 photo fee
- Change of Address Only $3.25
- Change of Information (other than address) $12.25
Official Nevada CDL Manual