You must get an Georgia commercial driver’s license (CDL) to be able to drive commercial vehicles in Georgia. For Federal CDL Requirements applicable to every state, click here.
Georgia adopted the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and is part of a nationally uniform system of classifying, testing, and licensing commercial vehicle drivers.
- When is an Georgia CDL Required
- Georgia CDL Age Requirements
- How to Apply for an Georgia CDL
- How Much Does the Georgia CDL Cost?
- Georgia Truck Driving Schools and CDL Resources
When is an Georgia CDL Required
You need an Georgia CDL when you operate the following vehicles:
CLASS A – Applies only to “combination” vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) more than 26,000 pounds, and the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being towed is more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with a Class A CDL (plus any appropriate endorsements) can also operate all vehicles included in Class B, C, and D (below)
CLASS B – Includes single or combination vehicles where the GVWR of the single vehicle is more than 26,000 pounds. The vehicle being pulled must not be more than 10,000 pounds. A driver with an Georgia Class B CDL (plus appropriate endorsements) can also legally operate all vehicles in Class C or D.
CLASS C – Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that meets neither the definition of Group A nor that of Group B as contained in this section, but that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR part 172, subpart F).
CLASS D – Private passenger, regular operator.
Georgia CDL Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age to drive within state lines (intrastate).
You must be at least 21 years old to:
- commercial vehicles across state lines (interstate)
- haul hazardous materials
- On or after the 21st birthday, the driver must go to the examination station and the Georgia Only restriction will be lifted.
How to Apply for an Georgia CDL
See CDL Documentation and Identification Requirements for Georgia here.
- Your valid Georgia Driver’s License. Be sure you meet CDL age requirements.
- Your Social Security card (laminated or metal cards not accepted) or most recent W-2 form.
- Physical examination by a medical examiner dated within two years of the application date (DMV form R-323 or U.S. DOT Medical Examiner’s Physical Examination form, meeting U.S. DOT requirements in 49 CFR 391.41-391.49).
- Printed confirmation notice of self-certification with DMV. Applicants must self-certify through the DMV website and print confirmation notice.
- You will be required to complete the Application for Commercial Driver’s License (DMV Form R-229a). Request the form to be mailed to you.
- NOTE: If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you will be required to show proof of your legal status in this country. Please see Acceptable Forms of Identification for Non-U.S. Citizens.
How Much Does the Georgia CDL Cost?
Note: You must pay the fees for your commercial drivers license BEFORE you take your knowledge tests. After paying the fees for the general knowledge, air brakes, and endorsements you wish to acquire you will then have three attempts to pass each portion of the exam. You must also have your medical examiners card or DOT medical card before applying.
The fees are as follows:
Application and manuals for a commercial drivers license (CDL) may be obtained at the Customer Service Centers. Complete the application; the application fee is $35.00. Fees are waived for veterans and school bus drivers who present the proper documentation. To apply, submit the completed application and $35.00 fee to any Customer Service Center (except Jackson) and take the required written knowledge exams. The $10 permit fee is paid prior to taking the knowledge exams. If all exams are passed, the $10 fee pays for the instructional permit. If any of the exams are not passed, the $10 fee is retained as a testing fee. The $10 permit fee would be paid again at the next test attempt.